Bird Tour – Union Springs NY

Unbelievable balmy day for January. Drove over to Union Springs to see what birds might be there.

Pulling in beside the Mill Pond immediately observed a bevy of Mallards and Canada Geese along the east and west shorelines of the pond. Counted 65 Mallards and 35 Canada Geese. Then to my surprise a new duck came into view through my binoculars. After referring to my Sibley’s I realized it was a Bufflehead. While I have seen Buffleheads in the past this one was the closest that I have ever come upon.

Proceeded to the Factory Street pond. The Eastern Screech Owl was not home today. But there were 13 Mallards and 2 Redheads, one male and one female.

Scoring the Bufflehead and the Redheads made my initial foray for 2011 a satisfactory venture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

